Guide to billing at Social Explorer

This guide is designed to help you better understand and manage your Social Explorer plans and billing statements.

Social Explorer paid plans

Social Explorer offers unlimited access to its data and powerful mapping and visualization tools with Professional, Business, and Institutional plans.

Professional plan is a single-user plan for professionals and individuals. 

Business plans are multi-user plans for teams and businesses. Customers can choose from plans with 2, 5, 10, and 20 seats. If you need more seats or you want to discuss additional options, please contact us

Institutional plans are for large communities. We provide site licenses for enterprises, government agencies, universities, libraries, high schools, and others. Click here to learn more.

Take a look at our Pricing Guide to compare all of our plans.

Upgrade to a paid plan

The Basic plan is available for as long as you need it, but when you're ready for more data and features, upgrading is easy. Learn how to upgrade your plan to Professional or Business.

Change your plan

This article will show you how to switch your plan or billing frequency. We'll also explain how to downgrade to a Basic plan so that you know exactly what to expect. 

Subscriptions can be changed by switching from the Professional to a Business plan, or by changing the number of seats in your Business plan.

If both plans have the same billing periods, the subscription retains the same billing date. If the plans have different billing periods, the new plan is billed at the new interval, starting on the day of the change.

For example, switching from the monthly Professional to the monthly Business plan does not change the billing date. However, switching from the monthly Professional plan to the annual Business plan moves the billing date to the date of the switch.

Credit card charges

You’ll see the first credit card charge on the day you upgrade to a paid plan, but there are other times you’ll see charges from Social Explorer:

Understanding proration

The most confusing aspect of changing plans is how existing payments are factored into the amount to be charged. By default, Social Explorer prorates subscription costs.

Keep in mind that proration is calculated for changes in the current billing cycle. Future charges will be for the full plan price. 

 

Upgrading from the monthly Professional to the monthly Business plan

Let's say you decide,  12 days into your billing period, to upgrade from the monthly Professional plan to the monthly Business plan with 2 seats, leaving 18 unused days in the previous billing cycle.

Here’s how it works:

You have a credit of $60 from the Professional plan – calculated by dividing the cost of the Professional plan ($100) by the number of days in the month (30) and multiplying it by the number of days remaining (18).

The cost of the new plan for the rest of the billing cycle is $90 – calculated by dividing the cost of the Business plan with 2 seats ($150) by the number of days in the month (30) and multiplying it by the number of days remaining (18).

Therefore, the total prorated cost of switching from the Professional plan to the Business plan is $30.

 

Upgrading from the monthly Professional to the annual Business plan

Say you are halfway through the monthly Professional plan that costs $100 per month and you want to switch over to the annual Business plan with 2 seats which costs $1440 per year.

You are credited $50 for the unused portion of the Professional monthly plan (15 days) and you owe $1440 for the first year of the Business plan with 2 seats.

You are charged—at the time of the switch—$1390, and the annual billing cycle begins from that day.

 

Upgrading from the annual Professional to the monthly Business plan

When the new plan is less expensive than the current plan, the prorated credit is larger than the new amount due. We'll use the remaining credit against your future payments before we charge your card.

For example:

If you switch from the annual Professional plan that costs $960/year to the monthly Business plan with 5 seats that costs $250/month exactly halfway through the billing cycle, you receive a credit of $480 for the unused portion of the Professional plan and are charged $250 for the new plan. So you will have a credit of $230 ($480 – $250) on your account for future payments. 

Credits will continue to apply to subsequent invoices until there is no remaining credit and payment is due again. In this case, the next invoice would net to $20 (price of the monthly Business plan that costs $250 minus your remaining credit of $230) and the one after that to $250 (full price since there is no credit left on your account). 

 

Upgrading Business plan (adding seats)

Let’s suppose you are on the monthly Business plan with 2 seats, which costs $150. Eighteen days into your billing period, you upgrade to the Business plan with 5 seats (plan price $250), with 12 days remaining in the month.

Your credit is $60 – calculated by dividing the current plan cost ($150) by the number of days in the month (30) and multiplying it by the number of days remaining (12).

The cost of the new plan for the rest of the billing cycle is $100 – calculated by dividing the cost of the new plan ($250) by the number of days in the month (30) and multiplying it by the number of days remaining (12).

Therefore, the total prorated cost of upgrading to the Business plan with 5 seats is $40.
Keep in mind that the next invoice will be for the full price of $250.

If you pay annually, it works the same way. We'll calculate the prorated cost for the rest of the year.